How Are We Doing?

Customer service has always been our top priority here at City Volkswagen. Our team is committed to working together to solve our customers transportation needs.

Take a look at what the reviewers on this page have to say about the customer service experience we offer at City Volkswagen.

Customer Lobby
357 Reviews
4.9 out of 5 stars
Sort by: Latest review first / Highest rating first
Joey T., Chula Vista, CA 28 Apr 2018
The service department at City VW exceeded my expectations, it all began with Jack Daniels, the person who did my oil change, and technician Dave.  I  only waited about 45 mins for them to say they needed to keep my car overnight due to an oil seepage they found along the way.  I'm almost out... of powertrain warranty so I'm sooo grateful they did their magic because another San Diego VW dealer, not mentioning any names that I was getting service at was going to try to get me for almost $2000 because there are also potential things that may need attention later on already.  55K miles, understandable that things are wearing a little.  But the oil seepage is the majority of the concern.  I appreciated Jack and Dave willing to take me to the shop to show me what's going to be done and the other stuff they'll keep checking and will need changing eventually.  Everything explained to me in detail so I was left with no questions to ask later.  Since the leak was under warranty, I was provided a loaner at no cost and the gas for the loaner and oil change was all I needed pay for.  10 mins after picking up car, engine light came on and I call Jack again.  He sent the mechanics over to my location to correct their mistake.  This is where their service got even better because another dealer would have asked me to tow the car in or bring it back.  I understand mistakes happen and Jack sent them over to my location very fast.  They corrected their mistake and car runs like a top with a fresh oil change and no more oil seeps.  And my engine bay got cleaned.  I totally recommend the Service Department at City VW for anyone VW service needs.  Thanks again Jack Daniels and their mechanics for the good work and honesty. Show more
5 rate
Yelp
Brian L., San Diego, CA 11 Apr 2018
GO SEE THESE GUYS!!!I own a 2016 Golf R, a car I'm extremely protective of, and proud to own. Around the 9k mile mark the clutch began acting up- it would stick, and pop, and make a squeaking sound through the pedal. I brought the car back to another dealership who replaced the pedal only and se...nt me on my way. Being a car guy I knew the problem was more than just a clutch pedal, but the sound and feeling stopped, so I went on my way.Around the 18k mile mark the clutch began to slip. I've been driving stick for over 15 years and have never burned through a clutch, nevermind a brand new one on a $40k car. I went back to the other dealership and they were going to charge me $100 just to look at the issue- even though I purchased two cars through them and was well within warranty.I took my car to City Volkswagen with hope that they would at least look at the issue without charging me - they did way more than that. From the second I brought the car in, my service adviser Don, and the manager Saul, made sure I knew I was in good hands. They looked into the issue free of charge and determined the clutch was indeed slipping. I told them about the clutch pedal replacement several thousand miles ago and they offered to help me file a claim with VW to have everything replaced under warranty- something the other dealership never offered or cared to do.I was given a rental car (a 2017 GLI, a pretty great ride) while my R was worked on, and Don called me daily to keep me updated on the claim with VW. In the end VW recognized a faulty hydraulic line and master/slave cylinder as the cause of the problem, and that the other dealership should have fixed it while the car was within the 12k mile limited wearable parts warranty. I got my R back several days later and the clutch feels better than new.I can't say enough good things about City VW. They've earned my business going forward due to their customer service, willingness to help me out, ability to work with VW and fix the problem, and for correcting the other dealership's mistakes. Go see these guys and buy a car from a dealership that wants to earn your business and will do what it takes to make you a happy customer- they're the best VW dealership in SD. Show more
5 rate
Yelp
Nelson V., Oceanside, CA 24 Mar 2018
Drove down from Oceanside and met with Safa to look at a 2017 GLI the dealership had listed at a discount. Very satisfying experience from start to finish. Safa was exceptional and quite patient with us. Hassle free car shopping and they even threw in GLI rubber floor mats for giving them our busine...ss. Will be back when it comes time to trade. Show more
5 rate
Yelp
Josh S., Rancho Bernardo, San Diego, CA 07 Feb 2018
We just purchased our new 2015 VW golf and are so excited. Albert Castellanos was our sales consultant and made the whole process streamlined and effortless. I applied online for financing, exchanges a few texts with Albert, worked a full day, and walked into and out of City VW in about an hour. I&#...39;ve never had the process take so little time and be so rewarding. Thanks again Albert! Show more
5 rate
Yelp
Carolyn P., Coronado, CA 26 Jan 2018
2 words: RODNEY JOYNER. I train sales people for a living, so needless to say I am very picky, impatient and usually disappointed when shopping for cars. I needed to buy a new car quickly last week as I had sold my car unexpectedly. I met Rodney and immediately felt at ease. He was knowledgeable, pr...ofessional, soft spoken and conveyed a feeling of trust and respect. Most importantly he listened to me and gained an understanding of what I really wanted. he then proceeded to find it for me and negotiated the best price out of 4 local dealerships I shopped/compared at. And are you ready for this? He hand delivered the car to me! I'm telling you if Rodney moves to a different type auto dealership then my next car will be from where ever he is working at. He is the best. Save money, save time, get a great deal and the treatment you deserve - ask for Rod! Show more
5 rate
Yelp
Adam R., San Diego, CA 26 Jan 2018
The service department and it's staff are great!!I went to VW Kearny Mesa with an appointment for my first service on a Golf Alltrack and had let them know when scheduling I would wait on my car. Long story short, when I got there they seemed surprised I would be waiting and said it would be 2.5... - 3 hours!!! Crazy!!So, I drove to City and without an appointment, Jack Daniels in service was able to get me right in and the service took less than an hour.City has earned my business and even though it's a bit more of a drive to get here, I'll continue to trust City with my future business. Show more
5 rate
Yelp
Michelle L., San Diego, CA 05 Jan 2018
Outstanding customer service experience. We purchased my red Volkswagen Gti in the last days of December. Our salesman Safa was fantastic. He always went the extra mile for us. Ari in the financial department was very informative and made the transaction a lot less complicated. The entire staff at t...his dealership will make you feel welcome and appreciated. We look forward to being a part of the Volkswagen family. Show more
5 rate
Yelp
Single Gal S., San Jose, CA 01 Jan 2018
I love this place. MyMom spoke to Shane on the phone on the Saturday before New Year's Day, and he said that they were very busy, but he would try to squeeze her in. We showed up a few hours later and Alex said that they were too busy to help her, but he would read her error message to see what ...it was. When Shane heard that Mom was there, he came over and checked her tires and all of them were low, so he filled them all up. Even though he was the service person, he grabbed the pressure gauge and went to work filling the tires. Neither of them charged her, which was very nice of them. For them to check her error light and fill her tires free was a big help to me. This is why they are my Mom's repair location of choice. Show more
5 rate
Yelp
Alexia C., Pacific Beach, San Diego, CA 28 Dec 2017
I've bought 5 cars from City VW now and I'll keep going back. Our dealer Safa is excellent. They have great cars and are always willing to make a deal. I'm so happy with our new purchase!
5 rate
Yelp
Ali T., Carlsbad, CA 17 Dec 2017
Fantastic experience at City Volkswagen!  After another Volkswagen store here in San Diego sold the car we were on our way to buy, we called City.  They did not have the car we wanted (Atlas) but they found it for us in less than one day outside of SD.  Then they brought it to our home and we did... the paperwork.  A+ customer service!!  We worked with Ana and Safa.  Extremely knowledge about the car and very professional.  Can't thank them enough for such a smooth, hassle free experience. Show more
5 rate
Yelp
Questions?
Please speak with our trade advisor for more information.
Adjust Payment Terms ×

We want to help you find the perfect car that fits your budget. Please adjust the options below so we can estimate the most accurate monthly payments.

Estimated Credit Score or Interest Rate

Desired Loan Term (months)

How much will you put down?

All tax, title and vehicle registration fees are additional. See dealer for complete details.